creative industries fund nl


Creative Industries Fund NL is the cultural fund for architecture, design, digital culture and every imaginable crossover. This page sets out the most important principles for good governance and oversight that the Fund upholds.

Cultural Governance Code
In the performance of their tasks, the Supervisory Board and the Executive Director whose function also embraces the capacities of the Chairman of the Board, work in accordance with the Cultural Governance Code (in Dutch only). The principles are embedded in the Statutes and Regulations for Governance (in Dutch only). In the Supervisory Board model, managerial responsibility lies with the Executive Director.

Executive Director
The Executive Director is charged with the Fund's day-to-day management. This entails the Executive Director being responsible for the achievement of the Fund's objectives, the strategy and policy, and the results ensuing from this. The Executive Director gives account of this to the Supervisory Board and provides it with all the requisite information.

Syb Groeneveld has occupied the Fund's post of Executive Director since 1 September 2016.

All the Executive Director's tasks and competencies with respect to the awarding of project grants are specified in detail in the Regulations.

The Executive Director's tasks include formulating the following plans and revising them as necessary:
A policy plan for a period of four years;
An annual budget with an explanation;
An annual plan;
A plan in respect of a proper risk management and control system.

Additional Task Syb Groeneveld:
Member of the Advisory Committee Action plan Culture & Creative Inclusive (on behalf of the National Culture Funds)
Member of the Advisory Board Architects Register (on personal title)

Supervisory Board
The plans outlined above require approval by the Supervisory Board (Raad van Toezicht or RvT). The RvT meets an average of four times a year. The chairperson of the RvT prepares the agenda, leads the meetings, ensures the correct provision of information and rigorous decision-making, and oversees the proper functioning of the RvT. Each member of the RvT must be able to contribute independently and critically to the decision-making process. The RvT maintains a great distance from the conferment of grants and commissions, as these belong to the Executive Director's responsibilities.

The Supervisory Board currently consists of:

Yasemin Tümer, chair
Founder and director of Ryt Holding BV, good governance and diversity
Angel investor en advisor Borski Fund
Vice President Bright Pensioen Coöperatie
Judge UtrechtInc
Ambassador Dress for Success Utrecht
Mentor Cherie Blair Foundation for Women
Chairwoman UnitedSucces Foundation
Member of the Supervisory Board Centraal Orgaan opvang Asielzoekers
Investor The Next Women NL
Co-founder VERA Community

Femke den Boer
Director of Center for Science and Culture, University Utrecht
Member of the Supervisory Board NPO
Member of the Supervisory Board Openbare Bibliotheek Amsterdam
Member of the Supervisory Board Theaterfestival Boulevard 's Hertogenbosch
Advisor Raad voor Cultuur

Tom Frantzen
Founder and director FRANTZEN et al architecten
Founder and director development & architecture Lemniskade Projects

Natalie Holwijn
Driver Etnische Zaken Vrouwen Nederland
Supervisor Rotterdamse stichting Cultuur Concreet
Senior legal advisor Infotheek Group
Management & Legal MMMG B.V.

Jules van de Vijver
Retired former chairman Executive Board HKU, Hogeschool voor de Kunsten Utrecht

Schedule of retirement
Mw. Yasemin Tümer: appointed 1-04-2019 until 1-04-2023
Mw. F. den Boer: appointed 1-10-2014; reappointed 1-10-2018 until 1-10-2022
Mw. N. Holwijn: appointed 1-5-2017; reappointed 1-05-2021 until 1-05-2025
Dhr. T. Frantzen: appointed 1-04-2019 until 1-04-2023
Dhr. J. van de Vijver: appointed 1-10-2014; reappointed 1-10-2018 until 1-10-2022

Selection committee
An external selection committee appointed by the Executive Director and consisting of up to three external members selects the candidate members for the Fund's various advisory committees. Candidate members are recruited via public announcement and apply for the function of advisor within an advisory committee.

Based on the applications, the external selection committee recommends potential members to the Executive Director. The Executive Director appoints committee members for a specific term. When constituting the committees, the factors taken into consideration include expertise, diversity, complementarity and specific specialities. The avoidance of any conflict of interest is an important criterion.

This year's independent selection committee for new advisors consists of:
Arzu Ayikgezmez (chair) - architecture
Ben Schouten - digital culture
Valentijn Byvanck - design

Advisory committees
Each grant programme works with a pool of advisors who participate in the committee meetings as and when needed. The expertise that is called for is determined on the basis of the applications. Advisory Committees are constituted in such a manner that members can operate independently and critically, and to avoid any conflict of interest arising. The precise composition of all the committees can be found on the Fund's website.

Advisory committee on appeals
Applicants have the right to lodge an appeal to a decision reached by the Executive Director. The Executive Director then makes a decision based on the advice of committee members as a result of a committee meeting. The appeals procedure is described in the General Provisions concerning Objections and Appeals of the General Administrative Law Act. The Fund works with a permanent, independent advisory committee on appeals that is appointed by the Executive Director. This committee is externally recruited on the basis of predetermined profiles. Preventing any conflict of interest is taken into consideration in the constitution of the committee.

The advisory committee's members are:
I.C. van der Vlies (chair)
L. Begas
A.N.A. Buyserd
A. Klawer
J.J.R. Lautenbach

the fund